Enter Faerie Goatmother

14 09 2010

Kaherdin is now interested in milking -- especially Om Shanti

Gwen and Kaherdin settle a spat during the carride home from Mendocino County as Om Shanti looks on (likely wishing she was back in Redwood Valley)

It is nothing short of mystifying the way in which slowing your pace down can fill your life to the point of overflow.  I’m not just talking about how the things you do on a daily basis matter so much more than the frivolous errands and needless trips to the mall, but also the way new paths open up before you and before you know it, you’re on a journey you never even thought to hope for.

When I got goats it was kind of a reaction against having been in graduate school for the past year and a half.  My soul had been sucked dry in courses heavy with grammar and theory, and somehow, in a way I completely did not understand, goats seemed to be the remedy.  One goat quickly turned to two and now, with the addition of Om Shanti (our new La Mancha doe), we have three.

The addition of Om Shanti was not completely spontaneous.  We knew she was on the horizon the moment we brought Rainbow home because anyone who knows anything about goats knows that they are like tattoos or potato chips, once you start with them, you just keep getting more.

Redwood and Rainbow provided just enough milk for my family to drink, have the occasional bowl of cereal and for me to make a batch of cheese maybe once every two weeks.  We go through chévre in our house like most people go through peanut butter, and with my foray into the making of hard cheese, we just needed a surplus for me to play with.  I also started selling cheese (under the name, Faerie Goatmother) at the Homegrown Marin Market, as well as to people in my community, and wanted to control the quality of the milk I make cheese with, rather than purchasing milk at $10-20/gallon from someone else.  Enter Om Shanti, who produces close to a gallon of milk per day.

The Faerie Goatmother Logo

Suddenly my goats are a small enterprise and I find myself sitting in the hot tub at night, watching my girls cough up their cud and lay with the ducks on the straw bales in the moonlight and I ask, how did I get here?  I’ve drawn the conclusion that it really doesn’t matter.  What matters is that right now my family and I are together on this path that I have brought us down.  It’s like how the tree roots that stick above ground on a well-worn trail become polished from footfall — the more we travel this route, the more beauty we see in the sheer journey of it.

Actions

Information

4 responses

15 09 2010
uncle kenny

cool. your right. it doesn’t really matter how you got there. if you can remember a few clues along the way, share them with the kids.

20 09 2010
Lothlorien

I think what you’re describing is the inherent wisdom of following urges, passions, and bliss. To do so is to create an authentic life, which is easier for you and the people around you to engage in than a fake or arbitrary life. I felt the same way when I tore out our lawn and put in a garden of native California plants. I don’t know why I had to do it except that not to do it was not an option. It was a ton of hard work, but now my husband and I sit in it every day glowing with pride as we watch the native birds, bees, and butterflies flocking around the yard, being beautiful, and eating pests. I have restored a small world of goodness. And you have created a way of life for yourself and your family that allows you all to live in harmony with nature. Congratulations, Fairy Goatmother!

19 10 2010
Frank Farm

I ran across this today and thought you might enjoy it as a day trip? http://www.yelp.com/biz/harley-farms-pescadero

17 11 2010
bonnetj

I’ve heard of them and would really love to go for a visit. I’ve driven by so many times while dream shopping for a Pescadero farm!

Leave a Reply

